Perks of Pregnancy

There are so many things to complain about while you’re pregnant (morning sickness, exhaustion, nausea, indigestion, weight gain, to name just a few), but it turns out there are also some nice perks that come with the bump. Here are a few that I’ve discovered so far:

  • Special Parking: This is not only at baby stores! While on a recent shopping trip to the shops in Walnut Creek, my friend and I spotted some special parking spots reserved just for expectant mothers and their families. Unfortunately, we found those spots on our way out of the parking lot, after having spent 20 minutes searching for a place to park, but it’s definitely something I’ll keep in mind for next time!
  • People *sometimes* give up their seat for you on public transportation: I say sometimes because I assume this is true, but I haven’t actually seen anyone do this yet. I think I’m still in the gray area where people aren’t really sure if I’m pregnant or just getting fat, so they aren’t entirely motivated to give up their seat for the girl who may just have a little extra belly, apparently. But hopefully they’ll give up their seat for me as I get a little farther along. 🙂
  • Maternity Leave! I’m already looking forward to the blissful time off of work and wondering how long it will take me to return to productivity in the working world. The irony is I’ll probably end up looking forward to the day when I go back to work just so I can enjoy a quiet meal alone a few days a week.
  • Cleavage: I’ve never been particularly “well-endowed,” so the ability to actually fill out shirts the way they were meant to be worn has been a pleasant surprise. 😉
  •  Something to Blame: I can blame every mistake I make on pregnancy brain! When I drop a whole carton of eggs all over the floor… oops, pregnancy must be making me clumsy. When I forget where I put something… must be the hormones zapping my brain cells. When I cry about silly things like commercials or clothes not fitting… I’m not crazy, just pregnant!
  • Food! I can rationalize almost any eating decision by saying, “The baby must want to eat this.” Ice cream, followed by a cupcake, followed by chocolate? The baby must be celebrating some special occasion in there!

Come to think of it, I think I’ll go eat now. The “baby” must be hungry… 🙂

One thought on “Perks of Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

