Valentine’s Day 2012: A hubby, a puppy, a little pneumonia and a bad movie

Although this was our last Valentine’s Day as a family of 2 (if we don’t count our puppy) and we had high hopes of having a romantic evening out on the town, our holiday was spent curled up on the couch watching probably the worst movie we’ve seen in a long time.

I found out on Friday that I have pneumonia, so I’ve basically been stuck on the couch for several days taking the antibiotics the doctor prescribed and getting as much rest and fluids as I could stand. (In case anyone is as worried as I was, the baby is fine. I went in to see the OBGYN just to make sure… it took him a couple tries to find the baby’s heartbeat because our little one was hiding pretty far down in my tummy, but as soon as I heard it, I burst into tears. Probably a combination of relief, pregnancy hormones, and the pneumonia, but I was really grateful to hear that little sound.)

On Valentine’s morning, I woke up to find some beautiful flowers, a card, a sweet pair of earrings, and my very own box of dark chocolate See’s candy. I honestly don’t think I’ve ever had my very own big box of See’s candy all to my self (I have shared one with family or friends, but never had my very own). I think that may be my favorite Valentine’s gift ever. Ok, so I’m easy to please. 🙂

I gave Chad a Valentine’s coffee cup with Snoopy on it, filled with candy hearts, and made him heart-shaped pancakes with warm fruit and powdered sugar on top.

The rest of the day was fairly uneventful. I worked from home as I continued to fight pneumonia and Chad went to coach baseball at the college. When he got home, I didn’t feel up to going out so we shared a pizza and some sweet potato fries, and Chad ran down to rent a movie. The only available movie that we hadn’t already seen and were remotely interested in was the movie Drive. Please do not rent this movie. It was pretty horrible. I won’t say start to finish, because the first 5 minutes of the movie were the best minutes of the whole thing. It was all downhill from there and the drop was pretty steep. They clearly tried to make the movie longer by adding in a lot of dead time. There are so many scenes with absolutely no dialogue. Just stares or driving around town scenes. Then the dialogue that does occur is so bad it’s almost laughable. It is also incredibly bloody and violent. Basically, it was the worst movie we’ve seen in a long time and the worst possible choice for a romantic Valentine’s flick. Ah well. Better luck next year!

Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope your date night was better than ours!

Leave a Reply

