Thursday

This was going to be “Thrifty Thursday,” and I was going to offer some of the tips for saving money that I’ve collected from being pretty obsessive about it for years. But I’m feeling more nostalgic than thrifty today, so that post will have to wait for another day.

Today I feel like reflecting on some things I remember and miss about my childhood.

I miss the sound of music that seemed to be everywhere around me, from the moment I woke up until I fell asleep at night. Having a musician father who just genuinely loves music, as well as a grandfather and brother that are also professional musicians, it seemed like I never went very far or very long without someone turning on some music. It’s amazing how the perfect song can really start the day off right and turn any negativity around. It’s also an incredible feeling to listen to a song that seems to know how I’m feeling at that very moment and just puts it all to the perfect melody.

I miss that incredible feeling of not having to worry about anything more important than math homework or the cute boy in my english class. When I was young, I had no idea what the real world would be like. Now when I look back, I miss that wonderful innocence and happiness I felt. Even when bad things happened, I rebounded so much faster as a child than I do now. I don’t know if the cumulation of life’s tragedies eventually wears on you and makes it harder to deal with them as life goes on or if my thoughts just change as I realize the finality of things.

I miss going to grocery or clothing stores and not feeling my heart beat uncontrollably as I mentally add up everything in my cart to see what I can actually afford and then slowly pull things out, one-by-one, and put them back on the shelves. While my family was not ridiculously rich when I was little, I never wanted for anything. If times were tough, my parents never let us know. I miss that wonderful, carefree feeling.

I miss the days that began with watching Little House on the Prairie with my Dad and ended with running around outside with my friends, long after it grew dark, playing tag or catching lightning bugs and letting them go.

I miss getting out of school early to go on a picnic with my parents. I miss the little dolls my mom used to bring home for me “just because.” I miss sitting at my mom’s work with my brother while we colored in our coloring books and watched Duck Tales. Even now, these memories bring tears to my eyes, and I wish I could turn back the clock and just be a kid all over again.

Leave a Reply

